Monday, 24 February 2020 17:06

Rally Islas Canarias opens its entries’ period and announces new prizes for the local teams Featured

Written by
Rate this item
(13 votes)

True to a program that is starting to accelerate, the second round of the FIA European Rally Championship opens its entries period for this event from this Monday. The event located in Gran Canaria will be in the Spanish Superchampionship and  in the Spanish Rally Championship on tarmac. The top ten teams classified in the local overall with cars with FIA approval will receive prizes.

Since Monday, February 24, the registration period for the 44th edition of the Rally Islas Canarias has been open, which will be held between May 7 and 9 and will bring together some of the best teams at continental, national and regional levels. This period will end on Wednesday, April 22, six days before the official entry list is announced.

 In addition, together with the opening of the entries, the Club Deportivo Todo Sport, organizer of the event, has also revealed all the details of the route, the regulations and the time-schedule. The first leg will consist of two runs for 'Valsequillo' (11.91 km), 'San Mateo-DISA' (12.01 km), 'Artenara' (12.21 km) and 'Tejeda' (12, 95 km) in the first two sections and, in the third, we find the urban super special of 'Las Palmas de Gran Canaria' (1.53 km). The second leg will add two runs for ‘Valleseco-DISA’ (14.17 km), ‘Gáldar’ (12.4 km), ‘Moya’ (12.7 km) and ‘Arucas’ (11.85 km). 

From the program of the event, the great novelty is that the day reserved for international teams to carry out collective tests is delayed to Tuesday. This is a measure imposed by the FIA and also has the consequence that the recce will be held on Wednesday, May 6 and Thursday, May 7 until 14:00h. Free practice will take place from 12:15 to 14:15 in the GC-70 road, and, from 15:00 to 16:00 h will host the Qualifying Stage for the FIA priority drivers, ERC1, ERC2 and ERC3. On this same road the shakedown will take place from 16:15 to 18:15 h. The 'Tuesday test' of May 5 changes the scene when moving to the municipality of Santa Lucía de Tirajana. 

With this renewed itinerary, the most international rallies that are going to be held this year in Spanish territory offer numerous incentives for the teams of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship (ERC), the Spanish Superchampionship (S-CER) and the Spanish Rally Championship on tarmac (CERA). At a regional level, the Club Deportivo Todo Sport will establish a series of prizes in a classification reserved for Canarian teams with FIA approved cars. In the near future, the Organizing Committee will announce the amount of these awards for the top ten classified in that overall.

Read 1901 times Last modified on Monday, 24 February 2020 17:08