Wednesday, 03 November 2021 18:37

Marczyk y Llarena will fight the FIA ERC runner-up in Gran Canaria

With two Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo, the Polish and the Spanish are part of a list of entries that exceeds the figure of 70 participants, just over 20 with vehicles of the Rally2 category. Rally Islas Canarias will bring together, in this edition, participants from 16 different nationalities.

The 45 Rally Islas Canarias closed entries period at 8:00 p.m. on Tuesday, November 2, and Todo Sport has already counted those requests. More than 70 teams will be on the starting line for this last round of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship, an event that in turn is part of the roadmap for the Supercampeonato de España, as well as the regional and provincial championship.

Taking a quick look at the teams entered, it is confirmed that the Polish Miko Marczyk and the Spanish Efrén Llarena will be in Gran Canaria to fight for the FIA ​​ERC runner-up. Both will do it at the wheel of two Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo.

Marczyk was already in the Rally Islas Canarias in 2020, in fact, he obtained the best time in the qualifying stage and, another who repeats, will be the Frenchman Yoann Bonato. Again on a Citroën C3 Rally2, the Frenchman will try to improve the podium position that he already achieved last year.

And the one who could not miss is the one who has become, in his own right, a local idol: Alexey Lukyanuk. The Russian, a three-time winner on the island of Gran Canaria, aspires to his fourth victory in this event, for which he relies once again on his Citroën C3 Rally2.

Premiere in Rally Islas Canarias will be the new Hyundai i20 Rally2, which in the hands of Nil Solans and Yeray Lemes is presented as the great novelty of this edition. As teammate of the Catalan will be the fast Italian Simone Campedelli, in his case, with a Skoda.

The teams from Spain are strong, with Iván Ares -third last year-, Jan Solans, Surhayén Pernía, or Luis Vilariño, a driver who has covered several FIA ERC events in 2021. They are joined by other Canarian drivers who are candidates for everything, as is the case of Luis Monzón or Enrique Cruz. Again in this Rally Islas Canarias, Albert Von Thurn Und Taxis, Juan Carlos Alonso and Emma Falcón repeat, all of them with cars of the Rally2 category. In that same window of the competition, but without being registered in the FIA ​​ERC, are the locals Miguel Ángel Suárez and Benjamín Avella, as well as the Galician Iago Caamaño.

The Rally2 Kit also adds other unquestionable attractions, with the Suzuki Swift by Javier Pardo, Dmitry Feofanov and Joan Vinyes, already known to local fans, and the Skoda Fabia by Tibor Érdi Jr and Serhii Potiko.

Among the Rally4 we find the drivers who have to fight, for absolute victories, in the coming years. About 20 units complete this window of the competition, a section in which are Jean-Baptiste Franceschi, Josep Bassas, Sami Pajari, Martin László, Alejandro Cachón or Zósimo Hernández, among others.

On the other hand, the Abarth Rally Cup, which visits the Rally Islas Canarias for the third time in a row, will feature the units of Dariusz Polonski and Carlos David García.

An international rally: 16 countries represented
Once again, the Rally Islas Canarias will show off its internationality. Counting the registered drivers and codrivers, around 150 representing the more than 70 teams, we find no less than 16 different nationalities.

Of course, Spain is the most numerous nation, but it is worth mentioning the other 15, in another order, already common in this appointment. Teams from Poland, Russia, France, Italy, Germany, Austria, Estonia, Lithuania, Hungary, Ukraine, Finland, Portugal, Romania, Bulgaria, and even Argentina, have echoed the call effect of this FIA ERC event.

The participation of this edition is completed with a good number of Canarian drivers. Among them is José María Ponce, twice the absolute winner and the only one who has been registered in all its editions. Julio Martínez, as leader of the Provincial, and Iván Armas, are also among those who will start from Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

The official list of entries for the 45 Rally Islas Canarias will be published next Tuesday, November 9, that is, a few days before entering the week most anticipated by fans.

Read 494 times