Friday, 19 November 2021 16:41

Lukyanuk-Arnautov, first leaders of the 45th Rally Islas Canarias

The Russian team, who needs to win and wait for Efrén Llarena-Sara Fernández and Miko Marczyk-Szymon Gospodarczyk to setback in order to win the sub-championship of the FIA ERC, achieved four scratches in the last four stages held in the first section. Their leadership gave them a difference of 14.5'' over Efrén Llarena-Sara Fernández and put them 14.9'' ahead of Simone Campedelli-Tania Canton. Enrique Cruz-Yeray Mujica hold the 4th place as the best Canarian team.

The 45th edition of the Rally Islas Canarias could not ask for a better start with the fight for the first section. With perfect weather conditions, which are the envy of the rest of Europe, the stages ‘Valsequillo’ (11.91 km), ‘San Mateo-DISA’ (13.78 km), ‘Tejeda’ (13.68 km) and ‘Santa Lucía’ (13.07 km) gave Alexey Lukyanuk-Alexey Arnautov (Citroën C3 Rally2) the leading position with 14.5'' having taken over all best times. Their outstanding record in ‘Santa Lucía’ was the key to consolidate the leadership of a team that has been taking up the Rally Islas Canarias since 2016 until 2018.

In the height of the fight for the sub-championship, Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) finished this section in 2nd place with Simone Campedelli-Tania Canton (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) placing third, less than half a second away from the Spanish team. Carrying a sanction of 10 seconds, Miko Marczyk-Szymon Gospodarczyk (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) finished 7th, 26,7'' behind. Enrique Cruz-Yeray Mujica (Ford Fiesta Rally2) were the best qualified Canarian team with a magnificent 4th place, 8,8'' away from the leaders and achieving a second absolute best time in the special stage 4. Yoann Bonato-Benjamin Boulloud (Citroën C3 Rally2) placed 5th, 23,8'' away from the leaders and followed by Iván Ares-David Vázquez (Hyundai i20 R5).

In the Spanish Super Rally Championship (S-CER), Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández are in the forefront with Enrique Cruz-Yeray Mujica 4,3'' behind. Iván Ares and David Vázquez, who were faster in the last stages this morning, placed 3rd, 11.7'' ahead of Jan Solans-Rodrigo Sanjuán and Surhayén Pernía-Alba Sánchez. In the Regional, Cruz and Mujica have clearly set the pace as evidenced by the fact that the difference to Luis Monzón-José Carlos Déniz (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) is 14,5'' and to Miguel Suárez-Dani Sosa (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) 22,7'' after just four stages.

Read 687 times