Tuesday, 03 May 2022 17:41

Presentation of the 46th edition of the Rally Islas Canarias at the Gran Canaria Arena

The third round of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship and the second of the regional championship has been launched, supported by the main regional and island institutions, a little over a week before the start. 


Rally Islas Canarias has been presented, as in its last two editions, at the Gran Canaria Arena. The main regional and island authorities have been in the launch of this international event that is once again an integral part of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship calendar. This year 2022 marks 40 years since the first time, in 1982, the rally called ‘El Corte Inglés’ was premiered continental scoring.

In this act, the Organizing Committee has summarized the main novelties found in the championship, in the image and in the approach of the event. The official poster has also been presented, which, like last year, has as its main element the Peugeot 208 Rally4, a brand represented in the Canary Islands by Orvecame, a historic partner of the Rally Islas Canarias.

97 entered teams Coinciding with the day of the official presentation, the Rally Islas Canarias has published the entry list. Finally, there are 97 pteams, 69 in the international section, the remaining 28 in the regional section and a total of 17 nationalities represented. The FIA ​​ERC list is opened with number one by the winners of the last Rally Azores and second in the provisional championship, Efrén Llarena-Sara Fernández (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) with the also Spanish Nil Solans-Marc Martí (Volkswagen Polo GTI R5) with the number two. Alberto Battistolli-Simone Scattolin (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), Simon Wagner-Gerald Winter (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), Simone Tempestini-Sergiu Itu (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), Javier Pardo-Adrián Pérez (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), Simone Campedelli -Tania Canton (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), Borbert Herczig-Igor Bacigál (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), Yoann Bonato-Benjamin Boulloud (Citroën C3 Rally2) and Pep Bassas- Áxel Coronado (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) complete the top ten formations of this list in which the Canarians Enrique Cruz-Yeray Mujica (Ford Fiesta Rally2), Luis Monzón-José Carlos Déniz (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) and Miguel Suárez-Eduardo González (Citroën C3 Rally2) carry the number 12, 14 and 18, respectively. 

Finally there are 14 teams entered in the Junior ERC division of the Rally Islas Canarias, the first round of the championship season whose winner will be promoted to the Junior World Rally Championship in 2023

Read 402 times