Thursday, 04 May 2023 21:50

José Antonio Suárez scores the best time in the Qualifying Stage

The driver from Asturias and his wingman Alberto Iglesias achieved the best results in a session that will establish the start order of the leg which begins this evening with the Super Special Stage 'Las Palmas de Gran Canaria'. The French team Yoann Bonato-Benjamin Boulloud and the Hungarians Miklós Csomós-Attila Nagy finished second and third respectively completing the top three with a difference of just two tenths of a second.


The Asturians José Antonio Suárez and Alberto Iglesias began the 47th Rally Islas Canarias achieving the best performance in the Qualifying Stage 'San Mateo'. The Skoda Fabia RS RS Rally2 team was the fastest in the 3.09 km stage that will set the start order for the first leg, which begins this evening at 9.05 pm with the city route 'Las Palmas de Gran Canaria'.

The winners of the Spanish Rally Super-Championship 2021 got ahead of the Frenchmen Yoann Bonato-Benjamin Boulloud (Citroën C3 Rally2) by one-tenth of a second and of the Hungarians Miklós Csomós-Attila Nagy (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) by two. The top five of this tight session was closed by the Italians Simone Campedelli-Tania Canton (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) and the Austrians Simon Wagner-Gerald Winter (Skoda Fabia RS Rally2).

Another team of national champions, made up of Iván Ares and José Pintor (Hyundai i20 N Rally2), finished in the sixth position just ahead of Filip Mares-Radovan Bucha (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo). The leaders of the FIA European Rally Championship, Hayden Paddon-John Kennard, put their Hyundai i20 N Rally2 in the eighth place. Tom Kristensson-Andreas Johansson (Citroën C3 Rally2) and Grzegorz Grzyb-Jakub Wróbel (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) follow them in the ranking.

The continental title holders, Efrén Llarena-Sara Fernández, didn't make it to the finish line of the Qualifying Special Stage as they ran slightly off the road with their Skoda Fabia RS Rally2. Enrique Cruz-Yeray Mujica, one of the most promising teams from the Canary Islands, had a similar setback with their Ford Fiesta Rally2.

Before the competition's official kick off with the Super Special Stage 'Las Palmas de Gran Canaria' the teams with ERC1 priority will attend the ceremony for the starting position that will be held in the podium area. Alongside this event the autograph session and the press conference will take place before the competition.

Read 119 times