Saturday, 04 May 2024 16:06

The prize-giving ceremony of the 48th Rally Islas Canarias at Mesa y López


The central avenue located in the heart of the city of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria will be hosting the final ceremony starting at 06:40 p.m. The winners of the different categories will receive their awards in a venue that gathered thousands of fans on Wednesday night. After the ‘Power Stage’ there will be another podium ceremony at Plaza de San Miguel in Valsequillo.


The 48th Rally Islas Canarias is already immersed in its decisive day. This Saturday afternoon, the winners of the second round of the FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) will be announced, as well as the different categories for which the island event is eligible. And all those winners will parade down the ramp located on Avenida Mesa y López, the same spot that hosted the starting ceremony on Wednesday night.

The teams finishing on the podium positions of the continental championship will also have a similar event after the ‘Power Stage’, which will be the second pass through the special stage of ‘San Mateo-Valsequillo’. Plaza de San Miguel, located in the town centre of the municipality where the stage finish line is, will be the setting for an event that will be part of the live coverage provided annually by Rally.TV. 

After that, the teams will head to the Gran Canaria Stadium for the final service, scheduled for 06:15 p.m. Ten minutes later, they will be heading towards Avenida Mesa y López, where they will receive the warmth of the Canarian fans. Thus, one of the main arteries of the city of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria will mark the end of a competition that has been providing vibrant battles on the island's abrasive asphalt roads.

Read 83 times