Saturday, 05 May 2018 19:50

Lukyanuk-Arnautov, a bit closer of their third victory in Gran Canaria Featured

Written by
Rate this item
(29 votes)

The fourth section has been marked by the abandonment of Efrén Llarena-Sara Fernández and Joan Vinyes-Jordi Mercader, whose accidents caused the neutralization of the ninth and tenth stages. Apart from that, the leading team has taken its advantage beyond the half minute on Nikolay Gryazin-Yaroslav Fedorov by managing to grab two new scratches.

With the incentive of the celebration of the longest and most important stage of this edition, the one of Gáldar and its 24.21 kilometers, the penultimate section of the 42 Rally Islas Canarias has cleared all doubts about which is the favorite team to get the victory. Alexey Lukyanuk-Alexey Arnautov (Ford Fiesta R5) have once again grabbed the best time in both that long stage and the first of 'Arucas-DISA' that opened the day.

With those two new scratches, the Russians consolidate even more their leadership by raising to 30.7 seconds their income with respect to Nikolay Gryazin-Yaroslav Fedorov (Ford Fiesta R5), who, meanwhile, are already more than 40 '' away from the Germans Fabian Kreim-Frank Christian (Skoda Fabia R5). The first classified Spanish team, the one of José Antonio Suárez-Cándido Carrera (Hyundai i20 R5) hasn´t been able to cut distances in that fight for the third position and second of the ERC Junior Under 28 that Gryazin leads.

Another of the important desertions in this penultimate section has been the Hyundai i20 R5 of the French Pierre-Louis Loubet-Vincent Landais, who remained out of the race before the King stage of this edition of the Rally Islas Canarias. This has allowed his compatriots Laurent Pellier-Geoffrey Combe to recover the fourth position with his Peugeot ahead of the Polish Grzegorz Grzyb-Jakub Wróbel (Skoda Fabia R5).

In junior ERC U27, the fight to the tenth for the leadership has charged as victims Efrén Llarena-Sara Fernandez (Peugeot 208 R2), who suffered a road exit in the tenth stage of the rally, which has left Diogo Gago-Miguel Ramalho (Peugeot 208 R2) and Martin Sesks-Renars Francis (Opel Adam R2) alone. ERC3 continues to be the ground of the French Florian Bernardi-Víctor Bellotto (Renault Clio R3T), Tibor Erdi-Gyorgy Papp (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) remain firm in front of ERC2, just like Emma Falcón-Eduardo González in the ERC Ladies Trophy.








Read 2240 times