Friday, 19 April 2019 18:35

Rally Islas Canarias has near of 120 entries for its edition number 43 Featured

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The second round of the FIA European Rally Championship closes on Wednesday its entries period with around twenty countries represented, 30 R5 cars, 29 R2 and four RGT.

The most optimistc predictions have been shorts. Rally Islas Canarias has closed its entries period with about 120 teams on its provisional list. At the internacional level, the meeting to be held on 2, 3 and 4 of May, will have the representation of around twenty countries, some as distant as the United States, Brazil or Argentina. The thirty R5s presents –always provisionally- represent a record for the race, among them current continental champions, the Russians Alexey Lukyanuk-Alexey Arnautov (Citroën C3 R5) and the current leaders of the ERC, the Polish Lukasz Habaj-Daniel Dymurski (Skoda Fabia R5).

The British Chris Ingram-Ross Whittock (Skoda Fabia R5) will also defend the first place of the Junior category ERC1 in Gran Canaria; Spaniards Efrén Llarena-Sara Fernández (Peugeot 208 R2) and Argentines Juan Carlos Alonso-Juan Pablo Monasterolo (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) will do the same in ERC3 Junior and ERC2 respectively. In total, there are 29 R2 vehicles, four R-GTs and three NR4s.

Another great news is that ten Spanish teams have registered for the FIA ​​ERC, another historical data for the Rally Islas Canarias. Among them are the canaries Luis Monzón-José Carlos Déniz (Ford Fiesta R5), Yeray Lemes-Ariday Bonilla (Hyundai i20 R5), Emma Falcón-Eduardo González (Citroën C3 R5) and Carlos David García-Jordi Díaz (Abarth 124 Rally), who will participate in the new Abarth Rally Cup that has four registered.

The Rally Islas Canarias will have the leaders of S-CER, Xevi Pons-Rodrigo Sanjuán (Skoda Fabia R5) and CERA, Pepe López-Borja Rozada (Citroën C3 R5). Iván Ares-David Vázquez (Hyundai i20 R5), José Antonio Suárez-Alberto Iglesias (Hyundai i20 R5), Surhayén Pernía-Alba Sánchez (Hyundai i20 R5) and Daniel Marbán-Víctor Ferrero with the novelty Volkswagen Polo GTI R5, will not miss in that national section.    


Read 1837 times