Thursday, 02 May 2019 21:53

43rd Edition of the Rally Islas Canarias launched at Parque Santa Catalina Featured

Written by
Rate this item
(7 votes)

The more than a hundred teams competing in this session of the FIA ERC, the Spanish Rally Super-Championship (S-CER), the Spanish Rally Championship on Asphalt (CERA) and the Canarian Regional have passed under the starting arch placed in this emblematic spot of the capital of Gran Canaria. Tibor Érdi will open the eight stages of the leg on Friday. 

One more year a huge crowd has gathered in the surroundings of Parque Santa Catalina in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria to see live the start of all participating teams in the Rally Islas Canarias. In its 43rd Edition, 114 teams will be taking part in each part of this major international automotive competition which counts towards: the FIA European Rally Championship (ERC), the Spanish Rally Super-Championship (S-CER), the Spanish Rally Championship on Asphalt (CERA) and the Canarian Rally Championship. 

The crossing of each one of the teams through the arch has been livened up by the audiovisual performed by Sonocom and DM Promaster and both drivers and co-drivers have been able to feel first-hand the warmth of fans who will be taking their places on the 16 special stages as of this moment. The first day will consist of the special stages ‘Valsequillo-Festina’ (10.96 km), ‘San Mateo-DISA’ (12.01 km), ‘Tejeda’ (24.1 km) and ‘Las Palmas de Gran Canaria-DISA’ (1.44 km), each of them to be driven twice.

The Hungarians Tibor Érdi Junior and Szabolcs Kovács (Skoda Fabia R5) will compete the eight special stages of the first leg. The fastest team at the qualifying stage in Valsequillo performed in the morning, made up by Pepe López-Borja Rozada (Citroën C3 R5), has chosen to start in the position number seven, whereas the current European champions, the Russians Alexey Lukyanuk-Alexey Arnautov (Citroën C3 R5), who have reached the third place this morning, have preferred to start at position fifteen, that is to say, the same as last year. After Érdi, will start the Spanish drivers Surhayén Pernía-Alba Sánchez (Hyundai i20 R5), Iván Ares-David Vázquez (Hyundai i20 R5) and Yeray Lemes-Ariday Bonilla (Hyundai i20 R5).

The FIA European Rally Championship will be streaming live on its official website on Facebook the two runs of the stage in Tejeda. The organisation has asked the fans to please collaborate in order to comply with the safety requirements of such an international automotive competition.

Read 1354 times