The changes that have taken place both in the calendar of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship and in the Spanish Rally Championship have led its organizer to request on November 26, 27 and 28. This date, like that of all the events that have had to change its date on the calendar, has yet to be ratified by the Delegate Commission of the RFEdeA and by the FIA ​​World Council.

The extreme measures taken in recent days to stop the expansión of the coronavirus have forced the Organizing Committee to delay its celebration. Both the FIA and RFEDA have already approved December, 3, 4 and 5 as a new date. With this, the ERC 2020 will finish in Gran Canaria.

True to a program that is starting to accelerate, the second round of the FIA European Rally Championship opens its entries period for this event from this Monday. The event located in Gran Canaria will be in the Spanish Superchampionship and  in the Spanish Rally Championship on tarmac. The top ten teams classified in the local overall with cars with FIA approval will receive prizes.

Club Deportivo Todo Sport has already made the itinerary of the next edition of this international event, a route that will visit the municipalities of Guía, Valsequillo, San Mateo, Artenara, Tejeda, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Valleseco, Gáldar, Moya y Arucas. The teams will face around 200 kilometes of special stages. 

The moral commitment to some of the locations that this August suffered the fires that ravaged the summit of Gran Canaria has made the Organizing Committee maintain the basis of its itinerary next season. Institutions such as the Cabildo de Gran Canaria and those responsible for the FIA ​​European Rally Championship support this measure aimed at supporting the economy of these populations.

After the withdrawal of Lukyanuk-Arnautov, the Spanish couple made good use of their advantage to settle themselves as champions of this 43rd Rally Islas Canarias. Chris Ingram-Ross Whittock maintained the second position and finished ahead of Lukasz Habaj-Daniel Dymurski, who – thanks to these points – will leave Gran Canaria at the top position of the FIA European Rally Championship. Luis Monzón-José Carlos Déniz achieved the lead with their Ford Fiesta R5 in the regional overall.

The Russians stayed at the finish line of the first stage of the second leg after the suspension of their Citroën was damaged. Without having the need to risk, the Spanish couple let the teams which are still fighting for the other podium positions take the limelight. 

The current European champions reached the top position in half the stages performed throughout the first leg. The rest of them went to the other Citroën C3 R5 that fights for the victory, the pair Pepe López-Borja Rozada. Both favourites are just 3.8 seconds away of taking the victory.

Although the Frenchman Pierre-Louis Loubet got the best time of the TC4, throughout the repetition of the stages ‘Valsequillo-DISA’, ‘Valleseco-Festina’ and ‘Tejeda’, Citroën maintained their leadership in Rally Islas Canarias.  

The current European rally champion and winner of the last three editions of the Rally Islas Canarias has held a really tight competition with Pepe López in the first three stages, namely, ’Valsequillo-Festina’, ‘San Mateo-DISA’ and ‘Tejeda’. López is leading the national overall and Cruz the regional one.

Page 1 of 3

Safety - WRC FIA

Travel to the Rally