The new Hyundai Canarias driver returns to compete in the Rally Islas Canarias. For the first time at the wheel of an i20 N Rally2, the two-time continental champion will have the chance to equal the record of five wins held by the Spaniard. Along with Yoann Bonato and Luis Monzón, they are the three drivers on the entry list who know what it means to win in this event.

The current champion of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship (ERC) opens an official entry list that has a total of 33 vehicles in the Rally2 category. The tenors of the continental competition, as well as those of the Spanish Rally Super Championship (S-CER) and those of the Canary Islands Asphalt Rallies Championship (CCRA), are already discounting the days to compete on the abrasive asphalt roads of the island of Gran Canaria.

Nearly 100 teams have entered for an event that will be held from May 2 to 4 on the island of Gran Canaria. The current European champion, Hayden Paddon; the current leader after the meeting in Hungary, Simone Tempestini; the last winner of the rally, Yoann Bonato; the current S-CER champion, José Antonio Suárez; the last regional champion, Miguel Suárez, as well as this season's leader, Yeray Lemes, are among those registered.

Next Tuesday, April 16, at 8:00 p.m., the deadline to register for this second round of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship will end, as well as the third round of the Spanish Superchampionship. During these last few days, the bulk of the FIA ​​ERC teams have intensified contacts with the organization.

The French driver, five-time champion in his country, achieved victory last year alongside Benjamin Boulloud and on a Citroën C3 Rally2. In 2024 they will repeat in a rally in which they also got on the podium in 2020 and 2022. Ekaterina Stratieva and Cristiana Oprea are also entered with their respective vehicles in the Rally4 category.

The FIA World Rally Championship is set return to Spain next season to take on the fast-paced asphalt roads of the Canary Islands, it was announced today, Monday, 11 March.

The second round of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship and second of the Spanish Super Championship includes a total of 13 special stages between May 2 and 4. One of the great novelties is in the start ceremony, which is moved to Wednesday, May 1 and changes its location without leaving Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

At 2:00 p.m. this Wednesday, March 6, the entries period opens for this event of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship (FIA ERC) and the Spanish Super Championship (S-CER). The period will end on Tuesday, April 16 at 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, 22 November 2023 19:59

The 48th Rally Islas Canarias, from May 2 to 4, 2024

Written by

The FIA ​​World Council has published today, Wednesday, November 22, the official calendar of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship 2024. In a roadmap with eight appointments, the Gran Canaria event will be the second and at the same time the first on tarmac. It will be the ninth consecutive edition since the return to the continental calendar in 2016 and, in addition, it will be part of the FIA ​​Junior ERC roadmap.

Wednesday, 22 November 2023 19:57

El 48 Rally Islas Canarias, del 2 al 4 de mayo de 2024

Written by

El Consejo Mundial de la FIA ha publicado hoy miércoles 22 de noviembre el calendario oficial del FIA European Rally Championship 2024. En una hoja de ruta con ocho citas, la prueba grancanaria será la segunda y al mismo tiempo la primera sobre asfalto. Será la novena edición consecutiva desde el regreso al calendario continental en 2016 y, además, formará parte de la hoja de ruta del FIA Junior ERC.

Page 2 of 9