Leaders from start to finish – the Russian couple remains in the historical record book of this race, just one victory away from the record of Carlos Sainz. In 2nd position after a perfect second leg, Efrén Llarena won the Continental Sub-Championship and Sara Fernández the Co-Drivers Title. Enrique Cruz-Yeray Mujica are regional champions with the 4th absolute position and 2nd in the S-CER.

With Lukyanuk and Arnautov unmovable from the best times in the stages Arucas, Moya, Valleseco and Telde – having gained an advantage of nearly 40'' – Efrén Llarena and Sara Fernández have settled a second place ahead of Miko Marczyk-Szymon Gospodarczyk and Enrique Cruz-Yeray Mujica, who lead the regional part of the Rally.

Not even a 10 seconds sanction dented the superiority of the Russian Citroën team in the first nine from the 17-stages-itinerary of this last rally of the FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) and next-to-last of the Spanish Super Rally Championship (S-CER) and the Canarian Rally Championship on Asphalt. Enrique Cruz and Yeray Mujica revealed as the big surprise of this opening leg as they moved into the third position in the international rally, second in the S-CER and an outstanding lead in the Canarian regional. Llarena and Fernández, who placed 2nd in the absolute ranking, are at the head at national level.

The Russian team, who needs to win and wait for Efrén Llarena-Sara Fernández and Miko Marczyk-Szymon Gospodarczyk to setback in order to win the sub-championship of the FIA ERC, achieved four scratches in the last four stages held in the first section. Their leadership gave them a difference of 14.5'' over Efrén Llarena-Sara Fernández and put them 14.9'' ahead of Simone Campedelli-Tania Canton. Enrique Cruz-Yeray Mujica hold the 4th place as the best Canarian team.

On it's reunion with the most international sports event in the Canary Islands, the fans once again took the leading role in the starting ceremony, which was brilliantly held in this new venue. One by one, all participants of this edition went up the starting ramp before the first leg, which begins tomorrow at 9.30 am. Previously, Miko Marczyk – the fastest driver in the qualifying stage – chose to start at the second position.

The Polish team has made the best time in the stage drawn up on the road Los Picos de Telde and will therefore be the first to choose starting position for the first leg on Friday. Next will be Alexey Lukyanuk-Alexey Arnautov, Surhayén Pernía-Alba Sánchez. The position selection will take place from 5.15 pm in the Gran Canaria Arena as an event open to the public, followed by the press conference, the autograph session and the starting ceremony.

Wednesday – The teams participating in this FIA European Rally Championship edition have been rallying all stages during the whole day, which is crucial in order to ensure a good performance throughout both days of the competition. On Thursday, the qualifying stage, the autograph session and the starting ceremony will complete a quite intense day.

Wednesday, 17 November 2021 20:13

Este jueves, primer plato fuerte del 45 Rally Islas Canarias

Written by

A lo largo de toda la jornada del miércoles, los equipos de esta cita del FIA European Rally Championship han estado reconociendo los tramos, una actividad vital para obtener un buen rendimiento durante las dos jornadas de competición. Para el jueves, la qualifying stage, la firma de autógrafos y la ceremonia de salida, completarán un intenso día.

During the first two days of the week, several of the teams registered in this edition have been carrying out different tests to optimize the set-up of their vehicles. Today, Tuesday, they have passed through the venue of the event, at the Estadio de Gran Canaria, to collect the necessary documents to start the recces.

Tuesday, 09 November 2021 19:30

Marczyk, with number one in the 45 Rally Islas Canarias

Written by

For the third time in history, a Polish driver will have that number on the entry list of Rally Islas Canarias. Together with Efrén Llarena, who will have the two, they will focus the battle for the runner-up in the FIA ​​ERC. Finally there will be 72 teams that will take the game, with the presence of the public, on Thursday, November 18 from the Gran Canaria Arena.

Page 4 of 7