Saturday, 28 November 2020 20:26

Fourmaux-Jamoul wrote down their names in the winning list of the Rally Islas Canarias

The French team M-Sport have been awarded the victory in this race of the FIA European Rally Championship. The weather have conditioned both of the two legs, causing several changes throughout the 17 stages of the itinerary. Yoann Bonato-Benjamin Boulloud completed the double French starring, ahead of Iván Ares-David Vázquez, who reached their second international podium of the season. Alexey Lukyanuk was crowned FIA ERC champion, whereas Pepe López-Borja Rozada took the lead in the Spanish Tarmac Rally Championship (CERA) and in the Spanish Rally Super-Championship (S-CER) in a mind-blowing finale.

Adrien Fourmaux and Renaud Jamoul (Ford Fiesta R5 MKII) have won one of the most unpredictable editions ever remembered of the Rally Islas Canarias. The French M-Sport driver managed to weather the storm in the first loop this Saturday, which left behind a long list of damaged competitors. Among them, Nil Solans and Xavi Moreno (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), who suffered a double puncture in the same stage, the eleventh, in which they regained the leadership. With just one spare tire, the loss of time was unforgivable.

Also in the first section, Iván Ares-David Vázquez had a flat tire and bent the left rear wheel of their Hyundai i20 R5, who from that moment on could not recover positions and had to settle for the third place behind the French champions Yoann Bonato-Benjamin Boulloud (Citroën C3 R5), who starred two scratches in this leg.

Further back in this rally overall ranking, Alexey Lukyanuk (Citroën C3 R5) celebrated his second champion title of the FIA European Rally Championship from the seventh overall position at the finish line of the Arucas stage, the last one of this edition. Oliver Solberg-Aaron Johnston (Volkswagen Polo GTI R5), fourth place in the rally and 1:17.4 from Fourmaux, also celebrated the ERC1 Junior title, which they competed for in Gran Canaria with Gregoire Munster-Louis Louka. Tibor Érdi and Zoltán Csökö (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X), winners of the ERC2, got the third title of their sporting carreer in this category.

In the ERC3 Junior, Pepe Bassas and Áxel Coronado got miraculously to the finish line with their Peugeot 208 Rally4, which got badly hit in the morning and raised some problems with the engine temperature. Their advantage over the champions Ken Torn-Kauri Pannas was so wide that they could keep that first position in the category.

The other two ‘jackpots’ of this rally were the titles of the Spanish Tarmac Rally Championship (CERA) and the Spanish Rally Super-Championship (S-CER) that once again went to Pepe López-Borja Rozada (Citroën C3 R5), with a very little advantage, though. The Madrid team, who abandoned the rally in the first stage after having been hit by a palm tree, accomplished their goal as they reached the best time in the SS+ in Arucas.  

The success of Ares and Vázquez in their pursuit of the European podium have given them their first victory of the season in the Spanish Tarmac Rally Championship (CERA).

José Antonio Suárez-Alberto Iglesias (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) did not quite make it to the first, but to the second place in the national ranking, ahead of Luis Monzón-José Carlos Déniz (Citroën C3 R5). Suárez finished fifth in the ERC whereas Monzón, third Spaniard in the continental ‘top ten’, holds the ninth place. In the Spanish Rally Super-Championship (S-CER), Suárez-Iglesias reached their second victory of the season ahead of Surhayén Pernía-Eduardo González (Hyundai i20 R5) and Nil Solans-Xavi Moreno.

In the last race of the season of the Canarian Tarmac Rally Championship, Luis Monzón-José Carlos Déniz celebrated their first regional victory at the finish line in the Gran Canaria Stadium. Enrique Cruz-Yeray Mujica celebrated the title obtained weeks ago in Tenerife from the second place with more than one minute from the team from Santa Brígida, whereas Miguel Suárez-Daniel Sosa (Skoda Fabia R5) reached their third podium of the season in a row, overpassing Yeray Lemes-Rogelio Peñate (Hyundai i20 R5) in the last stage.


Read 1761 times