Wednesday, 12 April 2023 10:28

Hayden Paddon and Mads Ostberg, two world-class drivers at the 47 Rally Islas Canarias

The first two classified of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship 2023 are already entered in the event that will be held on the island of Gran Canaria between May 4 and 6. Together, the New Zealander and the Norwegian have two victories in the World Championship, close to 30 podiums and more than 100 stages won in the world championship.


The provisional entry list for the 47th Rally Islas Canarias does not stop adding attractions for an edition that is aiming high. Although the period to formalize the registrations ends next Tuesday, April 18, these days have served to confirm that the participation will have a very important quality.

From the outset, the first two classified of the FIA ​​European Rally Championship have confirmed their presence. Hayden Paddon and Mads Ostberg, with extensive experience in the World Championship, will head to Gran Canaria to continue bidding for the continental leadership. Together, the New Zealander and the Norwegian have two WRC victories, close to 30 podiums and more than 100 stage wins.

Paddon, who will undertake a trip of more than 40 hours from New Zealand to Gran Canaria, will visit the stages on the island for the first time in his racing career. He will do so behind the wheel of a Hyundai i20 N Rally2 with which, up to now, he has not competed on asphalt. For his part, Ostberg will compete in the Rally Islas Canarias for the second time, after a 2016 edition in which he had to retire after winning one of the special stages. In his case, he will compete with a Citroën C3 Rally2.

But they will not be alone. The Italian offensive, always so characteristic in the European championship and in addition to the already announced presence of Rachele Somaschini (Citroën C3 Rally2), adds assets such as Simone Campedelli (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) and Simone Berolotti (Citroën C3 Rally2).

The Swede Tom Kristensson (Citroën C3 Rally2), one of the entertainers of the FIA ​​ERC 2022, will also head to Gran Canaria, as well as the Hungarian Miklós Csomós (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), who last year already appeared in the positions of head. Drivers such as the British Philip Allen (Hyundai i20 N Rally2), the Austrian Bogdan Cuzma (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) or the Hungarian Martin Laszlo (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), among others, are also on the provisional list.

Among the national and local ones, the return of José Antonio Suárez, who will debut the new Skoda Fabia RS Rally2 on the islands, as well as the eight-time regional champion, Enrique Cruz, who repeats with the Ford Fiesta R5 MKII, stands out.

Read 437 times Last modified on Wednesday, 12 April 2023 11:08